A Valued Opinion

watchmanA few days ago, I wrote a short review of Harper Lee’s novel Go Set A Watchman.

Before reading the book and writing the review, I had made a determined effort not to read what others were saying about it. Having caught some of the press headlines, and noting their negativity, I feared that if I read other reviews I would be influenced by the opinions expressed therein.

I have since read several, good and bad. However, for a really balanced commentary on the novel and its morality, I finally turned to one of my heroines of the literary scene, Ursula K Le Guin.

Mrs Le Guin – I hope both she and Miss Lee will forgive me mentioning it – belongs to the same generation as Harper Lee, which, it seems to me, gives her a unique perspective and with it perhaps more right to comment on the work of a contemporary than anyone else. In it, she includes some personal thoughts about being a citizen of the Southern States.

You can read the full text of Ursula K Le Guin’s review on this link:

http://www.ursulakleguin.com/Blog2015.html#102Watchman

I recommend it to fans of both writers.

***

Leave a Reply

